Sweet and salty

18 Dec

I am not a sweets person. I can’t stand a lot of sugar, so pure chocolate is not for me.

This makes my stomach hurt to look at it. Ugh, too much sugar.

However…add some salt to it and I’m there! Chocolate covered pretzels are one of the best inventions ever!

These I could eat all day.

So when I saw a picture on Pinterest for this, I had to check it out and try it. Totally worth it!

Preheat over to 275 degrees. Start by covering a cookie sheet with parchment paper, and fill it with a bunch of the tiny twist pretzels. In my world, Old Dutch is the only way to go for pretzels.

Unwrap a thousand Hershey’s kisses. OK, it just seemed like a thousand. Really it was just one whole package of them. Place one Hershey’s kiss on each pretzel.

I ran out of regular kisses, so I had to steal 3 dark chocolate ones from my mom’s stash in the refrigerator. Those are the really dark ones in the pictures.

Bake for 3 minutes. Remove from oven and immediately press one M&M into each Hershey’s kiss.

I let them sit for about 30 minutes, and they weren’t hardening much; the chocolate was still very soft. So I put the whole sheet in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes, and they set up perfectly. It’s best to store them in the refrigerator too.

Don’t they look yummy?

Good balance of salt and sugar. I could eat a ton of these! But I won’t…yet. Maybe on Christmas day. Because that’s a holiday, and eating plans don’t count on holidays, right?

5 Responses to “Sweet and salty”

  1. Heather Angelica Steen December 18, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Another good version of this is pretzels with Rolos, topped with a cashew. I seem to remember doing those in a much hotter oven, and they took very little time.

  2. Madeleine's Stories December 18, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Have you ever tried caramel on top? It’s awesome. 😛

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - December 19, 2011

    […] with friend MH. Had a blast at the awesome Longfellow Grill. Definitely need to meet more […]

  2. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - December 3, 2012

    […] those chocolate-covered pretzels again. And haven’t eaten TOO many of […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

