Looking in the mirror

12 Dec

Everyone has a picture of themselves, and it’s usually one that formed early in their life. It’s a picture of who you perceive yourself to be.

No one has an accurate picture of themselves, and what’s really sad is that people sometimes don’t see how they’ve changed. That’s when it’s helpful to have friends who can hold up the mirror for you and help you see how they see you. Let’s be honest…very few people see themselves as others see them. We often see ourselves in a much more negative light.

I have a few friends who can hold that mirror up for me. And they’re direct enough to know when I need it and in what form I need to hear it. AL does a great job of that as does RM. My dance teacher tries to do it with my dancing. (I just need to learn to believe him.)

But every once in a while, life holds the mirror up for me. Tonight I had dinner with my friend MH. MH and I went to junior high and high school together. We lost touch after high school, and then we got back in touch via Facebook. He and I went out to dinner a year ago or so (actually we realized it was eleven months ago) and have talked since then. Like I said, tonight we had dinner at the Longfellow Grill. Awesome food by the way – you should check it out.

Anyway, we talked a lot tonight. And a few times, he laughed really hard at something I had said. And it struck me that they were things I didn’t think were super funny, but by the way he laughed, I realized that they were kinda witty. And I’ve never seen myself as terribly witty (sarcastic yes, witty not so much). But that’s not the first time something like this has happened, and it made me realize that wow, I am actually witty and funny sometimes.

The same thing happened when friend NM, with whom I tend to trade verbal barbs, made the comment that I was verbally creative because he always lost the witty war. I had no idea he thought he lost (I thought I did), and I had no idea that he thought I was so witty that he couldn’t keep up.

I know it sounds weird, but moments like these start to sink in and change my perception of myself. Maybe I am witty and funny, and maybe I do have things to offer this world. Although I’ve changed a lot since I was 14, that fourteen-year-old still comes through in how I see myself. And it’s moments like this these really make me sit up and think about how much I’ve changed and what’s different about me. And realize I’ve come a long way and overcome a lot of issues. And start to believe that I actually am a pretty awesome person.

And just because it’s so damn cute:

3 Responses to “Looking in the mirror”

  1. Darlene B December 13, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    I love it when you’re introspective. You put in words what others are thinking. How one sees oneself and how others see them is often very different. I have learned to take compliments graciously, even when I don’t believe them myself. However, If you hear a compliment repeated from different sources, you can believe that it must be true!

    • The Reinvented Lass December 21, 2011 at 7:34 am #

      So very true! It’s the universe trying to tell us something, I think. I try to pay attention when I get multiple messages from different sources.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Looking in the mirror again. | The Reinvented Lass - November 12, 2013

    […] have been holding up the mirror for me again. I’ve talked about that before, and before, and before, and before. (Apparently this is a recurring thing for me.) I’m always shocked by […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

