Friends and chocolate chip blonde brownies

11 Dec

My mom has made these brownies since before I born, and they’re one of my favorite baked goods. People seem to love them but shhhh…they’re super easy. Like deceptively easy. People will think you’ve slaved over them. Go ahead – let them think that.

Melt shortening over low heat. (I know, a weird start, right?) Once melted, remove from heat and stir in brown sugar.

Add egg and vanilla.

Add dry ingredients and mix well. Stir in chocolate chips and spread in greased pan. If desired, sprinkle more chocolate chips on top.

Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes. Told ya – very easy recipe. And then enjoy the nom-nom-nom goodness.

The edges of my brownies are always overdone. I’m too afraid of the middle not being done enough, so I tend to overbake them. Maybe someday I’ll have the courage to just pull them out of the oven before the edges are so done.

This weekend was crazy-busy. But it’s starting to seem like that’s normal. Which is so different from my past weekends…I used to sit around on the couch all day both days of the weekend. Sometimes I miss that.

OK, I don’t really miss that.

Yesterday was the typical Saturday…dance group class, dance lesson, errands, and a tiny bit of work. Not typical for a Saturday: having a conversation with my dance teacher about our dance goals, his plan to get there, and why he was doing what he was doing. I totally trust the plan; I was just starting to feel like I was missing something and didn’t understand why we worked on this not that. It was sending me to my thinky place a lot on my lessons, which is never a good thing. It was a good conversation (but very long), and as difficult as those can be to start, I’m glad we talked. See? I try to follow my own advice.

Like I’ve mentioned before, I like to try and do at least one social outing each weekend. I hadn’t talked to my friend AM in a very long time. I think we’ve traded texts over the last month or so, but we hadn’t caught up in a long time. So I met her for dinner last night at the Red Stag Supper Club in NE Minneapolis. I hadn’t been there before – it was great! Excellent cocktails. Great food. And fantastic company and conversation. It was nice to catch up with her! I miss her. She’s one of those friends (which I am lucky to have a few of) that just being in their presence makes you feel better.

Today was laundry, cleaning, baking, and continuing to make Christmas presents. I think I’m almost done with the presents. I need to take stock tonight and see what’s left to do.

This weekend was so busy, I didn’t get to watch any movies. I usually watch my two Netflix DVDs on the weekend. This weekend I got through half of one.

And tomorrow I get to go back to my awesome job! While I still wish for three-day weekends, I don’t feel nearly as anxious about going back to work as I did about my old job. What a relief.

Chocolate Chip Blonde Brownies (from my mom)

Ingredients:
1/3 cup shortening
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup chocolate chips

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Melt shortening in saucepan over low heat. Remove from heat. Add brown sugar and cool. Add egg and vanilla and mix well. Stir in flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix in chocolate chips. Spread batter in greased 9×9 pan. Sprinkle chocolate chips on top of batter (can also mix chocolate chips in with batter). Bake 20-25 minutes.

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

