Chicken pot pie

4 Dec

Last weekend I went to my friend SR’s house for a sewing tutorial. (More on that in a later post.) She made a chicken pot pie for a late lunch for us. And since then, I’ve wanted to make one. I have trouble finding recipes for chicken pot pie that I like. So many of them are bland. My parents are out of town this weekend, so I had my friend KC come over for dinner last night. I made chicken pot pie for her.

I spent some time this week finding a recipe. I found one that looked really good on the Comfort of Cooking blog. It looked good, seemed like it would taste good, and it was easy. So I tried it.

Step one was combining raw chicken, water, and vegetables in a saucepot and bring to a boil.

I’m suspicious of boiled meat. I know it’s a legitimate way to cook it but I just think it takes all the flavor out. But I thought I’d try it because that’s what the recipe called for. The first time I try a recipe, I like to keep to it as much as possible.

Then I added bouillon, pepper, and butter. Next, I dissolved cornstarch and flour in cream…

…and added it in. Then I simmer while it thickened and added frozen peas.

I used pre-made pie crusts (again, that’s what the recipe said to do). Unfortunately, I didn’t roll them out like I should have. So the crust didn’t stretch out like it should have, so the filling was a bit much for it. It leaked out of the slits in the top before I even started baking it.

KC came over while it was baking, and I forgot to take a picture of it when it was done. But here is what it looked like on the original blog.

Mine didn’t quite look like that, but it was nicely browned. We had it with a pear-gorgonzola salad on the side. KC said it was awesome and had seconds. (So did I, to be honest.) I think it could use some improvement, though. Maybe chicken broth instead of water? And some herbs would add some needed flavor.

Overall, it was pretty good, but not good enough to post the recipe here. It tasted just fine, and the evening was more about spending time over food with an amazing friend. Afterwards, we watched “It’s a Wonderful Life”.

By the way, I made the tea-ring again this weekend, this time with the correct yeast. It worked! Recipe is posted.

One Response to “Chicken pot pie”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - December 5, 2011

    […] so-so chicken pot pie, but had an awesome time hanging out with KC while eating […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

