Candied bacon chocolate chip cookies

27 Nov

Finally! A Sunday where I could get LOTS done. Two weeks ago, I had Showcase and last Sunday, I had the stomach flu. So this Sunday, I was able to do all my laundry, make food for the week, and try out this divine recipe for candied bacon chocolate chip cookies.

I know I’m late on the “bacon-isn’t-just-for-breakfast-anymore” bandwagon. Story of my life…I’m usually late to the party for the latest trend. I knew bacon in other things sound great; I just hadn’t started trying to incorporate it into recipes yet. I had some thick-cut bacon in the fridge that I knew I should use somewhat soon, so I started searching for recipes. I found an intriguing one from The Girl Who Ate Everything. Candied bacon…perfect for those of use who prefer the salty/sweet combination instead of just sugar. Right? OK, let’s try it.

First, line slices of bacon on a foil-lined baking sheet and cover with brown sugar.

Throw into the oven and bake, turning once. You end up with a gooey mess. And have a snack on hand, because the smell of brown sugar and bacon baking in the oven will make you incredibly hungry.

After it’s cooled on a wire rack, finely chop it.

In the ever-reliable KitchenAid stand mixer, mix melted butter (Melted? That’s new. OK.) with sugar and brown sugar.

Add eggs and vanilla. Add flour and baking soda. Then mix in chocolate chips and bacon pieces.

Drop by golf-ball size drops on a parchment-lined cookie sheet. Bake for 15 minutes until edges are golden brown.

After they cooled, I tried them. How would this bacon taste in a cookie? I knew people who adored it but I was still a bit skeptical.

Having tried them, I’m convinced! The bacon adds a smokiness to the cookie, but having candied it first keeps the saltiness/smokiness from overwhelming the cookie. I still prefer a straight-up Nestle Toll House cookie, but I will definitely be making these again!

From The Girl Who Ate Everything

Ingredients
8 slices center cut thick bacon
1/2 cup brown sugar
2.25 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place bacon in a single layer on a foil-lined baking sheet. Sprinkle brown sugar on top of bacon strips. Bake for 20 minutes or until crispy, turning bacon over after 10 minutes. Remove bacon from oven and place on a wire rack for cooling. Once bacon has cooled, chop it finely into pieces.

Reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees. In a medium bowl, sift together flour and baking soda.

In a large bowl, cream melted butter with the white and brown sugars until incorporated. Add vanilla, egg and egg yolk to the bowl and beat until light and creamy. Add the flour mixture and mix well. Add finely chopped bacon and chocolate chips and stir until just combined.

Drop golf-ball sized balls of dough on a parchment-lined cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes or until edges are brown. Remove from oven and let cookies sit on the pan for a few minutes before placing on a wire rack to cool.

(Totally meant to sprinkle the tops with sea salt before I baked them but I forgot. I bet that would make the cookies even more awesome though.)

One Response to “Candied bacon chocolate chip cookies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - November 28, 2011

    […] *Baked ever-so-awesome candied bacon chocolate chip cookies. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

