First snow

21 Nov

I’ve been sick all weekend with the stomach flu. Not fun. Been sitting and sleeping on the couch since Saturday morning. But the good thing is that Saturday we got our first snow of the season.

Many people don’t like the first snow. I love it. If you live in Minnesota, you have to embrace winter anyway to a certain extent; otherwise you’ll be miserable for 7 months of the year. But I really do love snow and winter, even though I don’t do any winter sports like skiing.

I am really not a fan of heat and humidity, so summer can be tough for me. I love cold and bundling up in many layers. Yes, the cold and snow can get old around February/March. But I get excited for the first snow and the holiday season. To me, the first snow symbolizes the start of the holidays. I love the holiday season. So much joy all around, so many good holiday movies, such a festive air. And the first snow often kicks that off for me. It’s weird to me to not have snow for the holidays. I remember a year that we didn’t have a white Christmas, and that was just wrong. Brown and wrong. I’d rather have the white snow to cover the dead grass and trees.

And yes, it’s important too during the holidays to think of those who may be struggling and need help. The first snow reminds me of that too…who is having to sleep in this tonight because they are homeless? So the first snow makes me think of those who are less fortunate and what am I doing to help them?

So I love snow and I especially love the first snow of the season. While a lot of my friends are complaining right now, I say bring it on!

2 Responses to “First snow”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weeks in review « The Reinvented Lass - November 21, 2011

    […] first snowfall of the season Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. Yay! It’s almost Christmas. But gah, it’s almost Christmas! « The Reinvented Lass - December 19, 2011

    […] love Christmas. Like I’ve said before, I love the holiday season. (It’d be better if we had snow and a chance at a white Christmas. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

