Guinness chocolate pudding

14 Nov

Last weekend, I made an amazing pudding. It had Guinness in it.

photo courtesy of things my roommate makes

I KNOW! Sounds kinda bizarre. But the great peeps at this blog raved about it. So I figure what the hell. Chocolate + alcohol has not failed me before.

Mix egg yolks and sugar in a nonreactive bowl.  Then pour heavy cream and Guinness into a pan and heat over medium-low heat until bubbles begin to form at the edges. That to me is the scary part – it’s so easy to scald cream! But I did it and didn’t scald the cream – yay! Remove pan from heat, and whisk in finely chopped bittersweet chocolate.

Slowly pour chocolate mixture into egg mixture, whisking constantly to avoid curdling the eggs. Return mixture to the pan, and cook over medium to low heat until mixture begins to thicken. Pour into glass bowl and refrigerate until set.

I had pictures of this process but then my phone crapped out and I lost the pictures. So I’ll leave you with my favorite Guinness poem instead.

Stolen from one of my favorite sources: Things My Roommate Makes

Ingredients
4 egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup Guinness
1 1/4 cup heavy cream
4 oz bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
1 cup Guinness
1/2 cup heavy cream
3 Tbsp sugar

In a large nonreactive bowl, whisk together the eggs and the sugar.

Pour Guinness and cream into a medium saucepan and heat on medium-low heat until bubbles begin to form near the edges. Remove from heat, and add in chocolate, whisking until combined.

Ladle chocolate mixture, one ladle at a time, into the egg mixture, whisking constantly to avoid curdling. Return mixture to saucepan, and cook over medium to low heat until mixture begins to thicken. Pour into glass bowl, and place in the fridge to chill until set.

To prepare the froth, heat Guinness in a small saucepan until boiling, and then reduce to a simmer. Continue cooking the Guinness until it reduces to about 1 Tbsp, with occasional stirring.

Add the Guinness reduction to the cream and sugar, and whip until light and frothy. Place topping on chilled pudding.

3 Responses to “Guinness chocolate pudding”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gluten-free chocolate financiers « The Reinvented Lass - November 15, 2011

    […] last week I made the fabulous (if I do say so myself) Guinness chocolate pudding. I took it to the studio, and people liked it. One of my friends really was excited to try it until […]

  2. Weeks in review « The Reinvented Lass - November 21, 2011

    […] *Making awesome Guinness chocolate pudding […]

  3. Bourbon vs whiskey…and cake! « The Reinvented Lass - February 13, 2012

    […] know that I like cocktails. And the chocolate Guinness pudding I made a while ago was really good. So when I found this recipe, I knew I had to try […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

