Don’t you love flowers?

30 Oct

I like simple craft projects. Ones that don’t require too many supplies or materials. I found this one on a blog and thought I could do that.

Cute little flowers, aren’t they? To do this, you need felt, scissors, and glue (I used felt glue). Even I can handle that kind of supply list.

Cut a circle from the felt of whatever size you want. The bigger the circle, the bigger the flower. It’s best to free-form cut the circle; don’t make it perfect.

Start cutting around the edge in a spiral.

When you get to the end, you’ll have a little circle at the end.

You should end up with a long piece of felt with a circle at the end.

Starting with the pointy end (not the end with the circle), roll the felt on itself in a jelly-roll fashion. (Does anyone make jelly rolls anymore?)

Keep rolling and rolling and rolling until you get to the little circle at the end. Turn your flower over and glue the circle end to the back of the flower, creating a little base.

And when you’re done…voila! A felt flower. I glue mine onto barrettes or clips to use in my hair (as opposed to using the barrettes elsewhere? I guess that was a redundant statement.)

I also sometimes glue them onto ribbon on presents as decoration. Super cute is a few little flowers on a headband for a baby or a little girl.

I like craft projects like this. Simple and easy. And you get to feel all crafty and smart.

4 Responses to “Don’t you love flowers?”

  1. Marsha November 1, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    Very sweet! The flowers are adorable!

    And to answer the question, I make a jelly roll each year for Christmas for a Buche de Noel cake. It’s very tricky, worse I think substantially than your flowers, since the cake wants to split and other rude things when you roll it. HUGS!

    • The Reinvented Lass November 1, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      I love buche de noel cakes! But I’ve never tried making one. I think I’m scared to now! πŸ™‚

    • The Reinvented Lass November 1, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      I love Buche de Noel cakes!! I’ve never tried making one though – I think I’m scared to now! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flowers in my hair « The Reinvented Lass - November 29, 2011

    […] seem like enough surface area to attach the flowers. Aha! I had felt leftover from making felt flowers…maybe that could […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

