Post a week 2011, week #3: What is freedom?

7 Oct

(Oops! Forgot to do the post-a-week post on Wednesday, so here it is. Better late than never, right?)

Prompt question: What is freedom? When do you feel most free in your job? In your day? Least free? When is it better to not be free?

Dictionary definition of freedom:
1. the state of being free or at liberty rather than in confinement or under physical restraint: He won his freedom after a retrial.
2. exemption from external control interference, regulation, etc.
3. the power to determine action without restraint.
4. political or national independence.
5. personal liberty, as opposed to bondage or slavery: a slave who bought his freedom.

Interesting topic. In American, freedom is an important idea on which our country was based. But what is freedom in everyday life? I think freedom is the opportunity to make choices within a broad structure. I mean I can choose to go to this restaurant for lunch, I can choose to go see this friend tonight, but there are some common things we can’t choose like murder. Well, actually, we can choose to commit murder; society has just determined that this is a bad choice. So really, I guess I have the freedom to do what I want. Luckily, I live in a country where I can choose how to worship whatever god I choose, if I choose one at all. I can choose to work and have a job and not be at home because someone has decided that women shouldn’t work. I can vote as a woman.

(I’m going to ignore the job part of the question. My job is tough right now, and I don’t know if I can accurately and fairly answer this today. So there. See? I get to make that choice.)

When do I feel most free in my day? When I’m at the dance studio of course. That is the place I feel most free to be who I truly am – no judgments, just acceptance and appreciation of who I am. And of course, while dancing…I just feel free from my daily stresses and issues and angst. Dancing allows me to be free in the moment and just enjoy. Simply enjoy. And I allow it to lift me and rejuvenate me. I choose to allow dancing to fill me.

I guess to me, freedom means the existence of choices and the luxury of being able to choose without someone telling you what to choose, in the grand scheme of things.

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

