A girly weekend!

4 Oct

I had a girly weekend this past weekend. So very unlike me.

As you know, I am not a girly-girl. Thanks to my friends RM and AL, I can kinda be girly when I need to be (which is usually for a dance performance).

But this weekend, I had 3 girly things happen. First, I took a class at the Bead Monkey. It was a bead weaving class to learn more techniques on making earrings and bracelets. It was great! It was hard at first, but once I got the hang of it, it was fun. And I think I can make some great jewelry with it.

Then Sunday, I had brunch with KC. We always have such a good time. Afterwards, we went to Macy’s. I wanted to go to Clinique. I’ve been feeling the need to have a lip gloss for nights out (who the heck knows where that came from???). When I buy new makeup like that, I usually buy first at Clinique to get their expertise on color etc. Then I find something comparable in Cover Girl or Maybelline and buy that from then on. So after talking to the sales chick and trying on a few colors, the group consensus was on their Vitamin C Lip Smoothie in the color of Running Latte:

I really like it. But the only time in the past I’ve worn any sort of lipstick or anything is (shocking!) for a dance performance. I have no idea why, but I really like wearing lip gloss now. Hmmm.

While at Macy’s, KC wanted to look at hats and scarves. So we had some fun trying on different hats. I found one that I loved but I really didn’t have the money for it.

Flower is at the temple

 

Isn’t it cute? It’s a newsboy style but with a flower. Sadly, I left the store without buying it. Trying to be the responsible, frugal adult, right?

But yesterday, I thought about it so much, I stopped on my way home and bought it. I can forgo a few lunches out to pay for it, can’t I?

View of the awesome front

Totally worth it! I can’t wait to wear it this winter.

If you know me at all, you’ll know that makeup and hats are not areas I naturally gravitate towards. And while I’m make jewelry, I’ve never sought out more instruction on it. So could this be growth in me? Change in who I am and change more towards who I want to be?

Could this crazy journey I’m on be working???

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

