Girls’ weekend

29 Aug

Number one on my bucket list probably is to go to a Dance-O-Rama competition. This weekend was the Northstar Dance-O-Rama in Chicago. Our studio made a big push earlier to get a bunch of students to go. I couldn’t afford it, but many of my friends went.

I really didn’t want to sit around and pout because I wasn’t in Chicago, so I asked my friends the H’s (who were going) if I could use their condo (which I’ve stayed at before) for the weekend. They said of course, and I asked my friend AM if she wanted to go with me. She’s had a pretty tough run of life the last few weeks (months), so I figured she could use a relatively cheap weekend out of town. I think she was delighted to go, and I was delighted that she wanted to go.

We left Saturday morning after stocking up at the liquor store. One thing about AM: she likes her alcohol, which is one of the reasons we’re such good friends. When we got to Lake City, we stocked up on food at the grocery store. Interesting priorities of how to stock up, no? Take care of liquor first then food. For me, that’s simply because I live in a dry house. So I tend to soak up the opportunity to have alcohol whenever I can.

We had a wonderful weekend. We spent sometime on the rooftop deck on the condo building, enjoying the sun and the views. Lake City, and the condo, is right on Lake Pepin which is a natural lake and the widest part of the Mississippi River. The weather was 80 and sunny, the views were amazing, and it was so relaxing!

We also spent time drinking, eating, watching movies and talking. A LOT of talking. I think we figured out all our problems…well, maybe not. But we did talk about a lot of them! It was so relaxing and wonderful and just what I needed to forget that I wasn’t in Chicago with my friends at Dance-O-Rama.

Here’s a picture of our casualties of the weekend.

Thank God for friends like AM. Friends that you can spend time with, talk to, drink with, and just enjoy being in their presence. I love my friends! And AM, you’re welcome to travel with me anytime – thanks for making it awesome!

“Wherever you are, it is your friends who make your world.”

6 Responses to “Girls’ weekend”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cranky pants « Starting Over In My Life - September 1, 2011

    […] exhausting week. This past weekend was the Dance-O-Rama I couldn’t go to (as I mentioned before), and work is super stressful and bad right now. One of my friends has a slightly annoying habit […]

  2. Into the pool! « Starting Over In My Life - September 4, 2011

    […] now to figure out how to meet guys. I’ve been thinking about this for a while now, so last weekend when I was at the condo with AM, I made her help me write a profile for OKCupid. She’s done […]

  3. Birthday! « Starting Over In My Life - September 20, 2011

    […] waltz open freestyle. Very fancy, very difficult but very fun! My friends the H’s who own the condo I went to this summer couldn’t be at the studio today, so they made arrangements for a dozen […]

  4. Into the pool! « The Reinvented Lass - November 18, 2011

    […] now to figure out how to meet guys. I’ve been thinking about this for a while now, so last weekend when I was at the condo with AM, I made her help me write a profile for OKCupid. She’s done […]

  5. Birthday! « The Reinvented Lass - November 18, 2011

    […] waltz open freestyle. Very fancy, very difficult but very fun! My friends the H’s who own the condo I went to this summer couldn’t be at the studio today, so they made arrangements for a dozen […]

  6. Cranky pants « The Reinvented Lass - November 26, 2011

    […] exhausting week. This past weekend was the Dance-O-Rama I couldn’t go to (as I mentioned before), and work is super stressful and bad right now. One of my friends has a slightly annoying habit […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

