Pissy rant ahead

17 Nov

Pissy rant ahead. But hang on til the end.

I’ve been in a horrible funk the last two weeks. I read blogs like “Hyperbole and a Half“, “The Bloggess” and Wil Wheaton’s, and I admire how open they can be about their struggles with mental illnesses. And I think we should all be that open about it. But I still want to hide that part of myself. I hate that part. I hate that my brain is wired for that. I’ve come to accept that I’ll never be cured of it. All I can do is try to manage it when it flares up.

Mine shows up as anxiety. I’ve learned A LOT over the last seven years or so how to cope with it and how to have less of it. Those of you who knew me 10 years ago can attest to that. But I still have it. Usually, I can tell what has triggered the latest episode. Then if I deal with the trigger, the anxiety goes away.

Sometimes, it takes a while for me to be able to figure out and deal with the trigger. Until then, the anxiety shows up as a lack of confidence in myself and in my value and worth to the world. Then it starts showing up as losing my sense of humor, making poor eating choices, and not being active.

A few weeks ago, I noticed an episode was starting. And I (still) have no idea what triggered it. And it slid down the slope so quickly, I never had a chance to catch it.

And it’s been awful. I had a long talk with a friend of mine about a week ago, and he was trying to help me figure it out and pull me out of it. God bless him. But nothing worked. But while talking to him, I heard myself saying things about how I hated being this person, I hate being around this person so how can I ask anyone else to be around me, nothing I do matters, I don’t know how I can contribute anything, blah blah blah. SIGH.

So here I was yesterday, still in a funk, still feeling anxious. I slept about 3 hours Friday night (I love it when my old friend insomnia comes back). I’ve had a ball of knots in my stomach for about a week. I’ve been unable to stop eating crappy food – way too much sugar consumed lately. And all I could think about was what was wrong in my life.

I kept mentally going over the list…

I’m overweight
My foot still bothers me sometimes where I broke it
I don’t have enough money
I’m tired
My cardio stamina has not come back fully from my foot and my bronchitis
Who would want to hang out with me really?
I have nothing to offer anyone

And it spirals from there.

Now, the rational part of my brain knows this is not true. It knows that there are lots of things I can offer. But as the Bloggess says, depression (or anxiety) lies. Your brain tries to tell you differently, and it’s wired to believe it.

So yesterday, I had a dance lesson first thing. I went to it exhausted and drained and anxious. (Thankfully not anxious about my dancing.) It was an OK lesson. My teacher and I got a bit short with each other, mainly because I was pissy. Which made my responses to what he was saying be short. And he was trying to pull me out of it by giving me a kick in the pants. Which sadly this time did not help me. So I was getting more and more frustrated with myself. Not thinky. Just frustrated about being THIS PERSON on my lesson and in my life. And wanting to get over it but not knowing how because all the tricks I have weren’t working.

I left the studio and was going to go to the gym. I got into my car and immediately burst into tears because I was so frustrated with myself. But also, I clearly needed to process something. I’m still not sure what. So I cried in my car for about 10 minutes. Once I stopped crying, I decided that I was too tired and emotional to go workout. Probably not the right decision but this is what anxiety does to me. Instead, I decided to be a productive member of society and run a crap ton of errands.

Then I had about an hour to kill before group class. The only reason I went to group class was because I knew my friend CS was going to go, and we usually have lunch afterwards. I knew it’d be good to hang out with her, so I knew I would go to group class. To kill time beforehand, I went to my favorite coffee shop. I finished reading the book for book club next week. Then I had about 20 minutes to kill.

Then I thought about this blog I follow. I think the author writes to remember the good times in life, not the bad. Maybe I’ve been doing the opposite and have been focusing on the bad and the negative. I am Irish after all. So what if I deliberately tried to focus on the good things?

So I decided to start a list. Brainstorm what is good in my life…physical, emotional, talents, gifts, anything positive. No censoring except for censoring out the bad and the negative. Just write.

So I did. And you know what? I had two things on it: I have great hair (yes, I’m vain about it, it’s the only thing I’m vain about) and I can dance.

Again, I know there are a lot more things. That’s just how deep the anxiety hole is right now – I can’t even see the rest.

So I went to group, which was fine. Then me and CS went to lunch with her husband MS and our friends SH and SH. And it was actually a fun lunch. I started to enjoy myself a bit, which I haven’t been able to do much recently. Then we split off for the day. I had an appointment to have my hair colored. So I went to the awesome Jennifer, and she colored it. I love seeing her for my hair. She pushes me to try new things but in a very gentle way because she knows me. I enjoy chatting with her. And she makes me feel beautiful. This time, she added slightly more red to the color. And when she dried it, she curled my hair. So I had fancy hair, which made me feel so good.

Then I met SP for dinner. She really wanted a doughnut, but we couldn’t find parking near Glam Doll. So we ended up at Butter, and I could feel myself relaxing more and more the more we talked. I got to hear all about her most recent trip, we talked a little about my issue the last few weeks, and then we just caught up. I always have a good time with her! Afterwards I needed groceries and she did too, so we went grocery shopping together. And we ended up making fun of so much stuff in the store. Like the Barbies. And the Twister Skip game. And trying to find window insulating kits. Which we walked by about 3 times before we asked someone for help. And the how to speak Wookie toy. And the sandwich post-it notes. And the Christmas music samplers. Oh good, we laughed for about 30 minutes straight, I think.

And by the end of the day, after crying a little and seeing Jennifer who made me feel pretty and laughing with SP, I felt so much better. I slept all night and have had a productive day so far today. Laundry’s done (almost), food is made for next week, bills are paid. I still have a little knot in my stomach. But I’m hoping I can cling to how I felt last night and this morning, and just keep building on that.

Because I hate being the anxious insecure person. And I want to be who I normally am now. And I will fight to get back there.

Because Showcase is next weekend!!! And I’m ready for it. And I will ROCK IT.

I saw this on Facebook on Friday and need to have a giant version of this framed:

Don't stand in your way

Because really, I am and I do. And I need to get out of my own way.

7 Responses to “Pissy rant ahead”

  1. Robyn C. November 17, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

    Get out of my head!! Your post is SO right on for me at this moment. I have been struggling to dig out of a two month depression spiral. I couldn’t get out of bed couldn’t leave the house, and my major accomplishments in a day would be to leave my bed and take a shower – LAME! I mean who is this person? Who is proud if they are able to just take a shower that day? Of course this give the beast in my head time to convince me that the lies are true – I am worthless, people only love me because they don’t know the real me, everyone is going to leave me, I am lazy, I am sponging off my husband…..on and on and on. I hate that my brain works the way it does.

    With the exception of the 3 weeks prior to this one, I had been swimming 3-5 times a week, I saw my primary doc, I saw a new psychiatrist, I tried to eat well, I tried (unsuccessfully) to sleep, all those things one is “supposed” to do for health. Then there are the meds – ugh, I hate taking meds – I have had to just put my brain on hold and swallow the damn things.

    Last Monday the black skies lifted and I began to feel more myself again. This has been the best week I have had in MONTHS! I hate to admit that the meds make a difference – even though I would NEVER suggest to anyone else that meds aren’t helpful – there are different rules for me.

    OK – SO long winded – but mostly wanted you to know that you are NOT alone. I LOVE that you shared this part of your life here. You are brave and spectacular!

    • The Reinvented Lass November 17, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

      I wish I had known! I appreciate your supper and love. I hope you know you have mine. You’re amazing!! And just remember that it’s our brains lying to us. I know it’s hard to ignore it but try. Love ya!

      • Robyn C. November 17, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

        Loving you right back – mwah! It is amazing how not-alone we are, huh? xoxo

  2. Denise November 17, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

    I’m overweight~ Compared to who? You are strong and healthy and weight has no business in that mix.
    My foot still bothers me sometimes where I broke it~ It does that to remind you to be gentle with it. A good lesson for us all: to be gentle with ourselves.
    I don’t have enough money~ I’m currently working with people who have to decide between rent or groceries. I get to eat healthy food AND have a roof over my head. Never again will I say I don’t have enough money.
    I’m tired~ Your body is telling you to sleep. Listen to it.
    My cardio stamina has not come back fully from my foot and my bronchitis~ I’m right there with you, sister. It will come. Be patient.
    Who would want to hang out with me really?~ Who wouldn’t?! You’re sweet and funny and smart and thoughtful and lovely.
    I have nothing to offer anyone~ You have so much to offer, but can’t see the forest for the trees. You are a vast forest, my friend. Believe it.
    xx

    • The Reinvented Lass November 17, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

      Thank you, my friend. Your words and support and love mean so much to me! The forest comment really struck me. We all need to remember we’re vast forests!

  3. Kim November 18, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    You are an amazing woman. Believe in yourself. Be confident.
    Most of all know that you are loved for who you are.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It didn’t get better | The Reinvented Lass - November 27, 2013

    […] when I last left you, I was starting to come out of my funk. But then, for whatever reason, I couldn’t sustain it. I fell back in the funk, […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

