Discontent in dance

21 May

I haven’t written about dance in a long time, other than a post about Showcase. That’s because dance has been a source of discontent for me lately.

Which is very weird.

Dancing is my passion and my joy. I LOVE dancing. It gives me confidence and happiness. Occasionally it sends me to the thinky place. But when it does, I know why.

I can’t pinpoint where the discontent is coming from. And if I can’t pinpoint it, I can’t begin to address it.

Frustrating.

My lessons have been going so well lately; we’re making HUGE progress. And I’m not going to the thinky place on them. I just get a weird feeling when I pull in the parking lot or walk through the door of the studio.

And I don’t think it’s anything directly with the studio or my teacher. I think it’s something in me that’s getting in the way of me letting dance just fill me with joy.

REALLY frustrating.

I’ve been trying to listen and see if I can figure out the feeling. Friday night I journaled by hand for almost two hours just to unload my thoughts and see if I could see the pattern. Nothing yet. And I’m tired of this feeling.

SO FRUSTRATING.

I feel like it ties to my confidence in who I am and my belief in the studio environment being what it really seems to be. That the feelings are genuine and real. That’s not completely it, not by a long shot. But I think it MAY be a start?

I’m just thankful I have a patient and supportive teacher.

7 Responses to “Discontent in dance”

  1. Marsha May 21, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    Cathy, hang in there! Ballroom dance is such a great thing to do. It’s good for your head and for your heart. It’s a social activity, bringing you into joyful contact with others. It’s super exercise that you do without even considering it to be exercise! It’s something you are choosing, not an expectation or requirement. It is whatever it is for YOU, I don’t think it can be anything else! Enjoy it!

    On another note, apparently someone with my particular build is not allowed to struggle with weight loss. Posting my weight on fB has annoyed two of my friends, and people keep asking the same questions about why I think I need to lose, and I grow tired of explaining. So I am done posting on fB about it. I have enough going on in my life right now to soothe the feelings of those who are so stupid as to think that a 116 pound person could not possibly be overweight. I don’t want to make insentitive idiots uncomfortable about their own wieght, so I will keep my process private from this point forward. I really meant to be supportive, and I’m sorry.

    • The Reinvented Lass May 21, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

      Oh Marsha, I completely understand! I know your support is there. Just promise me you’ll let me know when you reach that goal! :) It’s amazing what insensitive idiots people can be.

  2. Tom Patrek May 21, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    The same thing happens to me with hockey. There are times when I don’t want to be around an arena, rink, or puck. I take some time off to rekindle the spirit and it works! Maybe you are pushing or forcing yourself too much and your body/ mind is telling you to take a couple of weeks off to relight the flame and bring back that pasison you have.

  3. Ana Duarte May 21, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Cheer up, mate! Throw Party Rockin on. That always boosts my mood up =D (try doing the energizer bunny dance!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pitri Dance : My Survival Tool | Learning From Life - May 21, 2012

    […] Discontent in dance (thereinventedlass.wordpress.com) […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

