Hold me accountable

13 May

OK. Here we go. My goal: to lose 10 pounds by the middle of August. As
I’ve said, I have trouble sticking to things that involve self-care. So I’m going to tell you all my goals, my progress, my setbacks, and my struggles. I need you, dear readers, to help me stick to this. I don’t need ideas on diet or exercise; I know what to do. I just need help sticking to this!

So my goals: 128 pounds, about 25% body fat, size 6 in clothes.

As of right now, I’m at 137.5 pounds and size 10. Haven’t done my body fat percentage in a while, but I’ll have that next week.

Short-term goals for this week: sticking to my eating plan and working out.

Goals for tomorrow: go to the gym, eat 5 small meals per the plan, and do my exercises at home.

Gah, I cannot believe I just put all my weight and size info on the interwebs!

15 Responses to “Hold me accountable”

  1. elizabethnaves May 13, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    Your goal can be done, I lost 12 pounds in a month.

  2. cathtravelsandteaches May 14, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    Brave woman! I might need a hand also – gonna see how I go being back in normality…

    • The Reinvented Lass May 14, 2012 at 7:43 am #

      What do you mean “in normality”?

      • cathtravelsandteaches May 21, 2012 at 12:29 am #

        I’ve been in Ardeche, and before that was off sick, and before that was school holidays and my sister was over… the week just gone was the first “normal” school week I’ve had! I sucked last week… but this week I’m gonna do it :)

  3. Marsha May 14, 2012 at 6:20 am #

    I’m there with you!!! You go girl!

  4. Tom Patrek May 14, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    Best thing you can do is find a time when you can workout. Make this time a DAILY event so you work out at the same time every day. Your body will start to crave that time of the day. 2nd – work out with weights. do’nt be afraid of wieghts. Women don’t get big and bulky like men do when they workout. If you swithch upper and lower body, you will get a heart pumping workout! upper body – lightweights for 20-25 reps, lower body, 20-30 reps. Shoot me your email and I can give you a TON of excercises!

    • The Reinvented Lass May 14, 2012 at 9:00 am #

      Tom, do you have ideas on how to just stick with it? I have great exercise ideas, I just have trouble sticking to it!

      • Tom Patrek May 14, 2012 at 9:09 am #

        Pick a time to do it every day. It might be at lunch, immediatly after work, 7:00 every night, before you go to work, whenever! Just pick a time and make it a daily routine. I workout every day after work. I drive straight to the gym and do’nt pass go, nor collect $200.00! LOL!

  5. Barry Freeman May 14, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    You can do it!!! I know you can. I’ll be watching :-)

    • Tom Patrek May 14, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

      So what time are you going to workout today?

  6. shannon May 14, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    Cathy the only way you WILL stick to it is if 1. It’s honestly important to you, and 2. You truly believe you deserve it. Of course you want to make danceorama an amazing experience for yourself, and feeling amazing about yourself when you get there will make it all that much more amazing to experience. You want that, it’s really important to you.

    But step 2 is harder. You mentioned already that you have a history of self-sabotage. Why? Is it because you don’t deserve good things, or is it that you are more “used to” bad things? And by bad, I mean that as a matter of your perception – the negativity that has gotten in the way for you in the past. This is a tender thing, and I don’t know enough to really call you on it, but I’m guessing you have a hard time believing that you deserve good things, or that you rightfully can be joyously happy when good things Come Out Of You. Almost as if you must have been lucky somehow to have gotten, well, lucky, rather than believing in yourself and working hard to achieve something and then feeling proud? Do you get where I’m going with this? I think you’ve been beaten down somehow, and you should be really angry about that. Honestly! Screaming angry, because you truly deserve good things to happen to you, and good things to come out of you too. That should never be taken away from you, so go back and grab it for yourself. Do you believe that you deserve your goal?

    We want you to succeed. We would be joyously happy for you and with you.

    • The Reinvented Lass May 14, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

      Shannon, you’re so smart. And so awesome. I won’t bore with the details. But it all boils down to some deep beliefs from childhood that I don’t matter, that good things don’t happen to me, and that taking care of myself isn’t important because no one else thinks I’m worthy of taking care of.

      I know rationally that it’s all ridiculous. But you know how hard it is to pull those beliefs out by the roots and finally be rid of them. I’m working on it, a lot, but I just need some help in the short-term sticking to this so I don’t give up on myself. I’m hoping that Dance-O-Rama is a big enough event that it will help hold me to it.

      Thanks for your support. You’re the best. :)

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

