Can you help me?

9 May

I think I might need your help.

I want to lose the last 10 pounds I’m carrying. Sounds like not a big deal right?

Sadly it seems to be. This goes back to the issue I’m working about how I matter. I think I don’t matter to myself so I don’t take good care of myself. That makes it hard to stick to an eating plan, a workout plan, etc.

But…I’m going to the Dance-O-Rama in August.

And I really really want to be in the best shape I can be by then. And if I stick to my plans, I could do it. I could reach my goals. Easily.

So how do I do that? I’m working on this whole issue so I learn to take care of myself. In the meantime, what can I do to stick to this? I know you all would help me, but I’m not even sure what you could do to help.

Do I just need to be accountable to people about what I’m eating and when I’m working out? Do I try to bribe myself?

I so want to do this and lose the last 10 pounds. I NEED to do this. I just worry that based on past behavior, I will reach a point of giving up and sabotaging myself.

Any ideas on how you can help me or how I can help myself?

10 Responses to “Can you help me?”

  1. ktgnyc May 9, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    Do you keep a food journal? Write down every last thing you put in your mouth.. every few days, evaluate, amend your eating patterns as necessary. Write it ALL down. Be accountable to yourself.

    • The Reinvented Lass May 9, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

      Yep, I’ve done that. Meticulously. Doesn’t help.

      • ktgnyc May 9, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

        Last 10 are always the hardest. Have you tried a 3-day juice cleanse? Or amping up the cardio? Cutting out “white food”?

      • The Reinvented Lass May 9, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

        I should be more clear: I have a plan. I know what to eat. I know what and when to workout. I just lack the ability right now to actually stick to said plans.

  2. ktgnyc May 9, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Did my comment post?!

  3. malmeyda May 9, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    Soon to be dancer,

    You’ve got three months to lose 10 pounds! I know you can do it and I would like to help you. You said some key phrases about being accountable for yourself and that is definitely a key notion. It also helps to have a great support system. Check out my blog today as I asked the question of who wanted to be ready for the beaches this summer. There is a great fitness program that requires no equipment and comes with an easy nutrition plan to follow, along with a free Coach (that’s me). If you would like me to help you meet your goals, feel free to email me at BBCoachMikeyA@gmail.com. I look forward to helping you achieve your fitness and health goals!

    Mike

  4. Shara Lyn Remmers May 10, 2012 at 5:51 am #

    Have you tried writing the food journal and letting someone else look over it? Even just knowing that someone else will be reading it could give you enough motivation to stick to the diet. You can also keep track of how often you exercise. Then you have some motivation to actually do those good things every single day. Each thing you do is a choice-do I do this, or that? Eat cookies or carrots? Walk or sit and watch tv? Make each choice consciously and you tend to do the right thing!

  5. caityrosey May 10, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    Sounds like you need a commitment device: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commitment_device

    There was a wonderful Freakonomics podcast (http://www.freakonomics.com/2012/02/02/save-me-from-myself-a-new-freakonomics-radio-podcast/) I listened to recently that talked how people use commitment devices to help give them the willpower to achieve goals they would not otherwise be able to achieve alone.

    For example: They talk about a man who decided to go a month without everything that he deemed unhealthy, from drinking alcohol to watching TV to eating crackerjacks. If he failed, he would force himself to send a $750 check to someone whom he really, really didn’t want to give his money to. In his case, it was to Oprah Winfrey.

    You could do something similar,and make your check out to some organization you consider really abhorrent. You could even tell someone else you’re doing it and give them the check to send for you, if you need extra accountability.

    Sounds like a good motivator to me.

    • The Reinvented Lass May 10, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      Intriguing. This might be something that would help me.

      And I love Freakonomics!

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

