Steak, cookies, and glue

22 Apr

Today is normally the day I do laundry, clean, and make my food for the week. However, today was the day I needed to start gluing the rhinestones on my new dance dress. Since that was going to take most of today, I had to keep the rest of it simple. I did switched the laundry from the washer to the dryer as breaks in the gluing process. Last night, I marinated steak so I could quickly broil that today. I made baked sweet potatoes as an easy side, again using the start and finish of them as breaks in gluing. I dusted the house as another break. And when I was all done gluing for the day, since I wasn’t too high from glue fumes, I made cookies.

The marinade for the steak sounded awesome. I found the recipe on Wired Again, a great food blog. It called for red wine, so I bought a bottle yesterday when I was running errands. Since my parents are out of town this weekend, I figured I would use some of it for the marinade and drink some of the rest. But when I got home, I realized that there is not a corkscrew in this house, and I was too lazy to go buy one. So I just substituted more pomegranate juice for the red wine. It was great, but I can’t wait to try it again with wine.

When I was done gluing for the day, I made Orange Ricotta Cookies. The recipe (from Tasty Kitchen Blog) was for lemon cookies, but I decided to try oranges instead. And they turned out fantastic! I just need to ice them tomorrow with a powdered sugar glaze, and they’ll be ever more yummy.

Tomorrow it’s back to gluing. I’m hoping to finish my dress tomorrow, but we’ll see.

***
Pomegranate Red Wine Marinade (from Wired Again)

Ingredients:
1/8 cup pomegranate juice
1/8 cup red wine
1/8 cup olive oil
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp minced garlic
1/8 tsp onion powder
salt and pepper

Whisk everything together and pour into a ziplock bag with your meat of choice Marinade in the refrigerator for at least one hour.

***
Meyer Lemon Ricotta Cookies (from Tasty Kitchen Blog)

Ingredients:
2.5 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
2 cups granulated sugar
2 eggs
15 oz container of whole milk ricotta cheese
3 tbsp fresh meyer lemon juice
1 tsp meyer lemon zest

For the glaze:
1.5 cups powdered sugar
3 tbsp fresh meyer lemon juice
1 tsp meyer lemon zest

Preheat the oven to 375. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

With an electric mixer, beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating until incorporated. Add the ricotta cheese, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Beat to combine. Stir in the dry ingredients, being careful not to overmix.

Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Drop the dough (about 2 tablespoons for each cookie) onto the baking sheets. Bake for 15 minutes or until slightly golden at the edges. Remove from the oven and let the cookies rest on the baking sheet for 20 minutes before moving them to a wire rack to cool.

Combine the powdered sugar, lemon juice, and lemon zest in a small bowl and stir until smooth. Spoon about 1/2 teaspoon onto each cooled cookie and use the back of the spoon to gently spread the glaze. Let the glaze harden for about 2 hours before putting the cookies into container.

2 Responses to “Steak, cookies, and glue”

  1. shannon April 22, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    Geez something’s really telling you to not drink in that dry house! I would have been pulling out all my tricks to get that dang cork out – digging at it with a pointy metal nail file and everything! Makes me want steak and red wine, which would go perfectly with my Philippa Gregory novel.

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

