Stats are interesting…no, really, they are!

3 Apr

I love looking at my blog stats.

Why, you ask? Well, because I’m a nerd. But also because they’re really interesting. (Maybe they’re interesting BECAUSE I’m a nerd.) For instance, I love seeing how many of you check out my posts and which ones you find interesting. In case you’re curious, that would be the food ones and the ones where I”m talking about the thinky place.

I like seeing what search terms people use to find me or to stumble on my blog. Mint.com vs Quicken is a big one (apparently I’m not the only one wondering which is better). Svedka vodka is another big one. And someone searches every morning for “The Reinvented Lass” to find me. That one fascinates me. For starters, you’ve read my blog every day and you can’t remember the address? Interesting. And if you’re that interested in my blog, why not subscribe? And then I start to wonder what this person’s reasons might be for that. I’ve come up with some fascinating stories, let me tell ya.

I love seeing where my readers are from. Obviously, a very large majority are from the US. I get hits from Malaysia (hi SS!), Canada (hi DG!), Australia (hi KP!). But I’ve also gotten hits from countries that I don’t know anyone in, like the United Kingdom, South Korea, the Philippines, South Africa. So that makes me marvel at the fact that my tiny little blog that I write as therapy and to amuse me is read worldwide, and it makes me marvel at how much the internet connects us.

I greatly appreciate all my readers. It means a lot to me that you take the time to read and sometimes comment on my little blog. And I find these stats about you guys so interesting! They just fascinate me sometimes.

Yep, I’m a nerd. And a dance geek.

7 Responses to “Stats are interesting…no, really, they are!”

  1. Joe Pineda April 3, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    Stats are definitely interesting, and if you take your blog seriously enough, they’re also a great resource to decide what days to post in, what topics net you the most visits, what posts get you the most shares, who are the people who comment the most, etc.

    A lot of people just use them to see the view count grow, but if you see your blog as a product and something you can advertise, even promoting it can turn into a really interesting game.

  2. Robyn Couillard April 3, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    Your blog makes me smile

  3. cathtravelsandteaches April 4, 2012 at 2:12 am #

    I’m one of the randoms from the UK – your blogs make me smile, and the similarities between us (including the name… creepy… :) ) make me go “hey! I thought that!”…
    Which is weird because I’ve never met you…
    And then I look at comments like what I’m writing now and go “Cath (as in me) you’re being slightly stalker-ey…”
    But anyway! Enough rambling. I like reading your blogs because they’re well written, interesting (I like stats too), and have good recipes ;)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - April 10, 2012

    [...] fascinated by the stats for my [...]

  2. Falling for a Nerd « A Little Tour in Yellow - May 12, 2012

    [...] Stats are interesting…no, really, they are! (thereinventedlass.wordpress.com) Rate this: Share this:TwitterEmailFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

