Wrenches and chocolate chip cookies

1 Apr

This weekend had many wrenches thrown in it.

As you know, my siblings and I met at my parents’ house to sort out furniture and stuff. My mom was planning on serving lunch first, but she forgot to tell any of us that except one of my sisters. So she made this big lunch, which was awesome, but it threw our schedule off.

Going through the stuff took a bit longer than I thought, mainly because there were too many jokes along the way. Lots of Monty Python quotes thrown in. We actually had a really good time, and there weren’t any arguments about it. Actually there weren’t any. We were all pretty good about if more than one of us wanted something, people kinda naturally backed down. I got a few things the TV stand I wanted, as well as some books and stuff that were my grandparents’.

But that all took a lot longer than I thought, so I had to run (not literally, don’t worry) to my dance lesson. My teacher was running late, so that made me late to run an errand and then go watch movies at NA’s house.

Friday night when I got home, I found out that the floor guy was coming to do some touch-up and a second coat on the kitchen floor. He was coming Sunday morning, which meant I had to do all my cooking on Saturday instead of Sunday. So that was another wrench and something to try and squeeze in before lunch on Saturday. Then we realized that the last time the floor guy was here, we weren’t supposed to run the dryer or the oven afterwards. We thought that had to do with the staining and not the polyurethane, but I figured I’d be safe rather than sorry and do my laundry on Saturday instead of Sunday. Yet another wrench.

And because I needed to destress a bit in the middle of all this, I made cookies on Saturday. (Because trying to squeeze in one more activity would be less stressful?) I was planning on making a regular Toll House chocolate chip cookie (well, actually more than one), but I found a recipe on Joy the Baker that sounded yummy. I didn’t want to add the sesame seeds, just because I wanted a basic cookie, but it still turned out great! It’s a little saltier than my traditional chocolate chip cookie, which makes it FANTASTIC in my book. It may be my new go-to recipe for chocolate chip cookies.

Courtesy of Joy the Baker

***
Sesame and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies  from Joy the Baker

Ingredients
2.25 cups flour (I only had 2 cups of regular flour, so I substituted almond flour for the rest)
1 teaspoon baking salt
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon soy sauce (I KNOW!)
2 tablespoons black sesame seeds (I left these out)
1 cup dark chocolate chips
about 1/4 cup black sesame seeds for rolling (I left these out)
Sea salt for topping (I did NOT leave this out!)

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 3-5 minutes. Stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl with a spatula. Add the egg and the egg yolk and beat on medium speed until mixture is fluffy, about 1-2 minutes. Beat in the vanilla and soy sauce. Stop the mixer and add the dry ingredients all at once. Beat on low speed until just combined. Stop the mixer, and fold in the sesame seeds and chocolate chips with a spatula until well combined. Cover dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and line baking sheets with parchment paper. Scoop cookie dough by the heaping tablespoonfuls into your hand. Roll in a ball, and toss around in the black sesame seeds. The dough balls don’t need to be completely covered in seeds, just coated well. Place on prepared baking sheets. Bake for about 12-14 minutes until lightly browned around the edges. Remove from the oven, allow to cool on baking sheets about 10 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely. Store cookies in airtight container. Cookies will last for a day or two because the oils in the seeds tend to go rancid. (The other reason I left the seeds out – the cookies should last longer!)

3 Responses to “Wrenches and chocolate chip cookies”

  1. Heather April 1, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    Yay! You survived!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - April 2, 2012

    […] my weekend plans thrown out of whack. The good side is that I had to have everything done by Saturday night, so Sunday was […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

