Sorting out the family heirlooms

31 Mar

Well, not the heirlooms really. We don’t really have any heirlooms. But today, my parents, my siblings, and I are gathering to determine who wants what furniture of the furniture my parents aren’t taking with them when they move.

This could be interesting.

I really only want one thing. And it’s not even a valuable piece of furniture – it’s just a nice TV stand, which I’ll need when I move. But I’m certainly not tied to it, so I won’t fight too much.

I’m curious how my siblings will be with this process. Will we all be adults and negotiate and concede? Or will we be like we were when we were little and argue about things?

Luckily, I have a dance lesson this afternoon, so I have an automatic out. “Oh sorry, gotta run!”

Then it’s pizza, drinks, and movies with NA at her place. Which will be a great way to destress, if that’s what’s needed after the furniture sorting.

Mantra for today: Breathe and hang in there.

5 Responses to “Sorting out the family heirlooms”

  1. Marsha March 31, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    Good luck with this. I don’t really want any of the stuff in my mom’s house, but I think she THINKS I should want it all!!!

    • The Reinvented Lass March 31, 2012 at 10:37 am #

      I know. I’m a bit afraid of what my mom will do if no one wants the stuff.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wrenches and chocolate chip cookies « The Reinvented Lass - April 1, 2012

    […] you know, my siblings and I met at my parents’ house to sort out furniture and stuff. My mom was planning on serving lunch first, but she forgot to tell any of us that except […]

  2. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - April 2, 2012

    […] *Claimed furniture with my siblings that my parents weren’t moving with them. It actually went pretty well. […]

  3. Blogging challenge, day 16 | The Reinvented Lass - August 17, 2013

    […] my parents downsized, my siblings and I went through some stuff they were going throw if we didn’t want it. I found two chairs that I had as a kid. I have […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

