Bucket list item #1

21 Oct

I think I’ve mentioned before: number one item on my bucket list is to go to a Dance-O-Rama.

For those of you not in the Arthur Murray family, Dance-O-Rama is a pro-am competition. There are multiple ones around the country, and you can go to whichever one you want to. They are usually 2-3 days of competition, and you dance with your teacher as your partner.

I think I could do really well at a competition. (I wish my teacher could hear me say that – it’s the start of me believing I’m a good dancer!) And it would be such a fun experience. My goal is to go to one sometime during 2012.

The problem, as with almost everything dance-related, is that it is really expensive to go. I’m not even going to tell you how much they cost because you wouldn’t even believe me. So I need to work my butt off to earn and save some money.

Someone once told me you’re supposed to have seven sources of income. I have my full-time job, which is what I live on. (Source #1.) I have retirement funds for the future. (Source #2.) For the Dance-O-Rama, I have started doing extra cleaning projects for my mom for money. (Source #3.) I’ve started doing administrative assistant type work for my part-time job and getting extra hours doing that. (Source #4.) I’m able to save some money each month for this too. (Source #5.) I’m going to try to sell baby hats and earrings on Etsy to get some money that way. (Source #6.) And I’ll pick up random extra work, like filing for friend TD’s business. (Source #7.) Wow, I didn’t think I actually had seven sources – cool!

I’m telling you this because I want to put this goal out there to let the universe start helping me meet this goal. I think I might be able to meet this goal, but I’m not willing to tell the dance studio for sure I’m going yet. I need to save a bit more before that can happen. I’m also putting this out there so you all can support me as I strive to meet this goal. And also understand why I might be a wee bit tired at times.

7 Responses to “Bucket list item #1”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My first dance dress « The Reinvented Lass - November 15, 2011

    […] have such a dream come true. I never thought I’d own a smooth dress. It was number two on my bucket list behind going to a Dance-O-Rama. And Marsha made it such a fun, enjoyable experience. I’ll […]

  2. Resolutions, I mean refocus « The Reinvented Lass - January 2, 2012

    […] Other stuff The rest of it is kinda smaller stuff. I really hope I can go to a Dance-O-Rama this year; it’s looking possible but I can’t commit […]

  3. Is being busy worth it? « The Reinvented Lass - March 3, 2012

    […] work is there (in terms of helping the owner) but also because I’m trying to save money for Dance-O-Rama. And dancing is so important to me and brings me joy and happiness. So yes, I’m super busy, […]

  4. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - March 19, 2012

    […] a bunch at my part-time job. Still saving for Dance-O-Rama, ya […]

  5. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - April 16, 2012

    […] put money down for Dance-O-Rama in Chicago, so now the price is cheap enough that I CAN GO!!!!!! Bucket list items being crossed off. Dreams coming true here, people. DREAMS COMING TRUE!!!! Share […]

  6. Can you help me? « The Reinvented Lass - May 9, 2012

    […] going to the Dance-O-Rama in […]

  7. 2012 roundup « The Reinvented Lass - December 31, 2012

    […] went to my first Dance-O-Rama. It was a great experience, although difficult at the time, and I can’t wait until I can do […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

